App Store now available in 33 more countries.

in iPhone News & Rumors, Miscellaneous Stuff by

123 countries now have access to the App Store

Due to the new OSX Lion launch being available exclusively in the Mac App Store Apple have sought to expand the availability of the app store. Now people from 123 countries can download and use iPhone apps and have access to OSX Lion/Mac App Store, up from the previous 90 countries.

According to Engadget the new countries added to the list are:

Algeria, Angola, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Bermuda, Bolivia, British Virgin Islands, Brunei, Cayman Islands, Cyprus, Dominica, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, Iceland, Montserrat, Nigeria, Oman, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and The Grenadines, Suriname, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos, Uzbekistan, Yemen

In recent months the app store has grown tremendously and the 15 billionth app was downloaded earlier this month. At the WWDC (Worldwide Developers Conference) last month Apple announced they were passing the 14 billionth app download. This means that the app store is now handling roughly a billion app downloads a month. All this bandwidth doesn’t come cheap with the app store costing a reported $1.3 billion to run, and Apple repeatedly mention that they don’t make a huge profit from it. Despite this they reported a record revenue amount of $28.57 billion with the iPhone and iPad compromising just shy of 70% of the companies revenue in the quarter.

Matt Tennison (58 Posts)

Join SenseiPhone on